Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through November 17, 2003

Old     (larry6)      Join Date: Oct 2002       11-04-2003, 4:45 PM Reply   
Hey guys this is my first year out here in Sac with a boat so I wanted to see how many of you winterize your boat. I keep mine in my garage and it doesn't appear to get that cold at night in there. However it is a new boat and I paid a lot of money for it so I don't want to take a hit because of my stupidity if u know what I mean. Do you think it will be ok in the garage or should I just get it winterized? I do plan on riding however I am not sure how much that is why I am having second thoughts.
What do you guys and gals do??
Old    walt            11-04-2003, 6:43 PM Reply   
Larry if your boat is inside you dont need to worry about the water in the block freezing but if you want to be safe it only takes a minute to drain it. Keep your gas tank full and add gas stabalizer and Disconnect your battery cables.
If you dont know how to drain the block send Me a e-mail and I will tell you how.
wsalty@comcast.net
Old    oshensurfer            11-05-2003, 11:48 AM Reply   
I can show ya how to drain it Larry. Lemme know.
Old    deltahoosier            11-05-2003, 1:44 PM Reply   
You most likely do not need to winterize it. If you are using it, then you will always replenish it with 60 degree water at a minimum and it rarely freezes anyway. If you are worried, put a cup of water on the boat trailer and check it after a cold night. The water in the cup will freeze well before the engine block in it's insultated enclosure.
Old     (larry6)      Join Date: Oct 2002       11-07-2003, 6:20 PM Reply