Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 18, 2006

Old     (eubanks01)      Join Date: Jun 2001       05-01-2006, 3:07 PM Reply   
Ok, I've had enough and it's time for a change! I've been wakeboarding for a long time (12+ years) but have never had as strong as a toeside edge as I thought that I should. I got TS 3's decently consistent but TS inverts have been few and far between for a long time. Most of my inverted tricks are heelside and I would like to become a more balanced rider.

Here is my problem. I feel that I have good form edging OUT toeside...straight back, leaning down the line, handle not too far from hips, etc. Obviously the leverage is different (and easier) cutting into the flats than it is coming into the wake, but it should be possible to duplicate this body position. So now I need help transfering that form to when I'm approaching the wake. On my TS cuts I often break slightly at the waist. I believe this to be a bad habit I just need to concentrate on in order to change. But besides that, I don't feel evenly weighted on my feet, I feel my chest is too open to the boat, and I don't build up much tension on the rope. I try to lean down the line and often feel that I'm putting too much weight on my back foot.

So the main thing I'm looking for is tips to correct my TS edging form. Whether it be drills to work on, things to think about, different body position, etc...I just hope to fix my bad form!

Here are examples of my TS edging out and into the wake. Thanks for the tips.

Upload
Upload
Old     (kristian)      Join Date: Nov 2002       05-01-2006, 3:18 PM Reply