Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (bhyatt_ohp)      Join Date: Oct 2007       10-26-2011, 12:14 PM Reply   
I'd like to get opinions on whether I should keep my current boat or not - sort of a what would you do question. Here it goes. I've been riding for 11 years now and still love it. I'm 26, a fairly advanced rider and would like to think I've got several more years in me to ride decent on a wakeboard. I've always spent my summers on the lake since i was an infant and I've never missed a summer on the boat. My wife and our 5 year old love to be on the lake as well. About a month ago we found out we'll have a new addition to our family around May 2nd, 2012, which we are super excited about! We're somewhat prepared for the Dr. bills to start coming in, but also have a fear of the unknown as far as our expenses, then insurance deductible, wife going without pay while on maternity leave, etc. Baby expenses as well as a desire to tithe more to our Church have prompted us to start tossing around the idea of downgrading from our current boat to an older model or possible going without a boat for a year.

Current boat in question is a 2008 Malibu VLX that I bought new in 2008. Unfortunately we've got about 10 years left to pay on it, not the greatest interest rate on the loan but if I sold it, i should at least break even. Hopefully I wont get bashed for my choice to finance a higher priced boat, but in perspective, I don't have a car payment, credit card debt, student loans, etc and pay cash for pretty much everything. I only owe on the boat and my home mortgage. The 08 vlx has 360 hours, lots of options and has been taken care of. Does anyone have experience buying or selling one of these recently and know how much they paid for or sold it for?