Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 05, 2008

Old     (fulltilt429)      Join Date: Apr 2007       05-18-2008, 1:02 PM Reply   
What up, I was ridint at the beginning of this season (early april), and rode in the am w/o stretching and pulled a muscle in my back (according to the Dr.), they gave me motrin and vicodin and told me to relax and stay off the board for a couple weeks.

Now I work as a mechanic, and it doesnt really bother me during the week, and I workout and still nothing, but now after a day of riding the next day I damn near cant walk. I have been religious about stretching too before I ride, nor am i going super big or crashing hard. Matter of fact I rode switch pretty much my whole session yesterday, so it was pretty much just some light riding and minor jumps.

What Im wondering is anyone else having this problem? I know im not 21 anymore, but im also not in bad shape. Maybe i need a second opinion? Im just getting frustrated and I dont want to be sidelined all season. Thanks !
Old     (wakeslife)      Join Date: Jul 2005       05-18-2008, 1:12 PM Reply   
Get into a pt program and strengthen those core muscles! It takes some time, but be consistent with the workouts and it will work. Also adopting a wake to wake style, at least temporarily, will do wonders for your back!
Old    thebiggmann            05-18-2008, 1:46 PM Reply   
Increasing core strength though will only help if those muscles are engaged. Focus on keeping your abs tight and engaged while you ride, especially when you do any sort of twisting or bending. It also might help if we knew where this muscle was at. Is it upper back, like below your shoulder blades, lower back a little off to the side, etc.?