Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through July 11, 2007

Old     (hawaiianstiln)      Join Date: Oct 2004       07-01-2007, 8:35 PM Reply   
Anyone put a chip in their truck to get better gas mileage while towing. They obviously get more horsepower, but was wondering if the chips really help in MPG.

I have a dual flowmaster catback exhaust and K&N cold air intake on my 06 chevy silverado 5.3 engine. It's definately letting the engine breathe and I have increased gas mileage by 2-3 mpg with those upgrades.

I'm looking at the Hypertech programmer III performance chip. It looks like it's about $300. I don't want to spend anymore than that and don't care to have the dash display chip either (more expensive).
Old     (wake_pirate)      Join Date: Mar 2007       07-01-2007, 9:31 PM Reply   
When using the hypertech or any other fuel programmer, if you program it for better mileage, the computer will lean the fuel delivery out. That causes increased cylinder temp, leading to shorter engine life.
If Chevrolet thought they could get any more MPG out of it, they would have already done it.
BTW when I installed the K&N on my 03 Chev 2500HD, the mileage dropped off. probably due to needing more gas to match the extra air.
I own a shop & have a Dyno & have not measured any substantial horse power gains.
I still sell k&n & flowmaster/ magnaflow, but I dont gaurantee any MPG gains
No offense to you
Old     (peter_c)      Join Date: Sep 2001       07-01-2007, 10:04 PM Reply   
http://www.nelsonperformance.com/
Old     (siuski)      Join Date: Feb 2003       07-02-2007, 6:41 AM Reply