Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through October 28, 2007

Old     (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       09-10-2007, 11:24 AM Reply   
I have a 1996 Mastercraft that the gellcoat is getting hazy. It has been covered and it in the shade its whole life but doesnt shine the way it used to even after a good wax and buff. Any suggestions? Also anyone know of a good product to prevent water spots, even after a fresh wax it water spots very easily. Thanks for the help
Old     (showtime)      Join Date: Nov 2005       09-10-2007, 11:32 AM Reply   
they don't make such a thing --- try sand paper....
Old     (byrd)      Join Date: Dec 2005       09-10-2007, 11:45 AM Reply   
Yep, your boat probalby needs to be wetsanded to bring it back. For waterspots, you can use half water/half vinegar solution.
Old     (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       09-10-2007, 11:47 AM Reply   
what grit of sandpaper would you recommend?
Old     (showtime)      Join Date: Nov 2005       09-10-2007, 12:09 PM Reply   
depends on how bad it is -- start light w/ 1400 or so...may have to go down to 1000 or even 800.. if you are not experienced, be very careful, you can end up worse off than you are.. a close friend of mine did my 94 205 and it looked brand spankin new
Old     (salomon16)      Join Date: Aug 2007       09-10-2007, 12:49 PM Reply   
I would try 3M Super duty rubbing compound. It worked great on getting the hazy oxidation off my 87 Mastercraft. Use it with a rotary buffer and it will be fast and effective and not as extreme as sanding.
Old     (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       09-10-2007, 12:54 PM Reply   
thx alex, I am a little afraid of breaking out the sandpaper. If the rubbing compound did not work I could move up to the sanding right?