Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 08, 2008

Old     (loudsubz)      Join Date: Aug 2001       05-10-2008, 8:02 PM Reply   
Im new to inboards, just got a used boat for the first time this year. The only thing that feels weird is the steering. At low speeds it is hard to turn the wheel, but at faster speeds it is a little easier, but still somewhat tough to turn the wheel.

Does the steering linkage need greasing? or is inboard steering like this.
Old     (westsidarider)      Join Date: Feb 2003       05-10-2008, 8:06 PM Reply   
you might want to look into having the steering cable replaced. i have done it with the help of a friend before so i didnt have to pay a shop to do it. took a little bit of work but got it done. you want to replace it sooner than later becuase you dont want to be in a situation where your in a close area and have the cable snap on you and loose the ability to steer at all.
Old     (twdugas)      Join Date: Oct 2007       05-10-2008, 8:19 PM Reply   
if you do it yourself do not forget to tie a rope to the old steering cable before you pull it out!
Old     (srh00z)      Join Date: Jun 2003       05-10-2008, 8:55 PM Reply   
Some rudder boxes (if that is what you call it) have a Zerk fitting for grease. From what I know this is usually not the causes of tight steering, but it would be worth a try first. It is usually the steering cable. If the boat hasn't been used for a while, I have had steering cables to loosen up as the boat was used more and more. How old is the boat?
Old     (loudsubz)      Join Date: Aug 2001       05-10-2008, 9:06 PM Reply   
its a 1995 with 450hrs on it.