Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through February 21, 2008

Old     (scwellman)      Join Date: Nov 2006       01-19-2008, 9:01 PM Reply   
I am looking for advise on batteries and amps for my sound system. First off I'm a novice to sound systems and technically lacking, I have my local sound shop that does my installs and makes recommendations on how it all should be set up.

Here is a breakdown of what I have presently and am going to have installed.

Presently-
4 Polk 6.5 DBA'S & (1) 8" JLA sub all being powered by a 4 channel kenwood amp.

Adding-
Pair of Fusion T Series combos tower speakers and I was to told to power them with a JLA 4300 amp for max RMS.

So, am I going to need to add a battery to run 2 amps and 11 speakers? and if so should I go with the yellow tops which say they are for sound systems and accessories or the blue top which is made for marine applications? The yellow tops seem to be running $25-35 cheaper than the blue tops?

Recommendations? ideas on amps for powering the Fusions to their maximum capacity?

I'd like to have a heads up before I go to the sound shop and get the royal screwing.
Old     (xaggie)      Join Date: Nov 2002       01-20-2008, 12:21 AM Reply   
I've got some good advice call me back fool.
Old     (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       01-20-2008, 5:54 AM Reply   
What kind of battery do you have now...std wet-cell lead acid, gel-cell like an optima, or an AGM (Absorbed Glass Mat)?

If you are going to tie the two together, to be charged off the alt, I would recommend you go with the same type or buy 2 new ones. These three batteries do not charge at the same rate, and you may be left with an undercharged battery if you mix types.