Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (Jeff)      Join Date: May 2010       08-10-2010, 3:56 PM Reply   
I have an '00 MasterCraft 230 VRS (23') with a 330 HP LTR engine that I bought 2-3 months ago. Been wakeboarding since '92 but only 1-2 times per season until this year. I'm an advanced rider as far as my air goes but intermediate as far as big tricks are concerned. Had big plans for a big ballast system.

I'm starting to wonder if these huge ballast systems are even worth it though. It will easily cost $2,000+ by the time I figure in 4 big bags, pumps, plumbing and a new prop. Also, I assume the wear and tear on the engine is increased because with the reprop and the weight I will be turning higher RPM at a given speed.

I'm pretty happy with my wake with 4 adults and 750 lbs of water ballast but that may be just because I don't have much experience with more than that.

Would I likely need a reprop with 2 400s in the rear and a 650 lb integrated bow sac in the front? The boat handled 750 lbs with no problems with the factory prop. I wonder how it would do with double that. We did have to turn 4-500 RPM to maintain the same speed but holeshot was still great and it held speed great.

All things considered I really need another prop anyway because I don't want to leave town with the boat and bend a prop without a spare.

Just wondering if I should scale back my plans. I know I could do underfilled 750s in the rear and have room for expansion but they I will just be itching to do do what it takes to fill those 750s until I actually do it. At the same time this is a big boat and I don't want to waste my money on smaller bags for the back and then "have to" go back and spend more on 750s.