Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeskating

Old     (hyperliterider90)      Join Date: May 2010       11-30-2010, 9:25 PM Reply   
How is this board? Im a pretty novice wakeskater.. i have a cwb deck which i dont like and i can do basic ollies, 180s, shuv, and 360 shuv. im looking for a bi level board..
Old     (wakemitch)      Join Date: Jun 2005       12-07-2010, 5:16 PM Reply   
the onset is not a very popular board. The concave shape is pretty weird. very steep kick tail and has no side concave except on the last inch of the edge. Last year they broke really easily, but for 2010 i havent heard anyone say anything about the board on wakeworld or wakeskating.com
Old     (thedoubleupkid)      Join Date: May 2008       12-09-2010, 9:49 AM Reply   
Hey Mitch - have you rode the Onset before? Hmmmm I seem to remember Stu Shinn winning the MOTY in 2008 and Matt Manzari taking home the same award in 2009.... Both rode the Onset. No side concave? The entire deck has 3D shaping. Break easily? For 2011 we added a ABS sidewall and 4 more sheets of maple ply.
Old     (wakemitch)      Join Date: Jun 2005       12-09-2010, 6:14 PM Reply   
I rode it a few time last year. The side concave is pushed so far out that your feet dont even touch it while riding. Its doesnt give you extra leverage when edging like on most boards. And the top deck started cracking after a set or two, but that doesnt effect the performance i guess. I know you guess strengthened the boards and that s awesome. I know its preference but the board just didnt work for me and all my buddies that tried it.
Old    mojo            12-10-2010, 4:04 PM Reply