Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (MalibuLX3)      Join Date: May 2010       07-09-2010, 11:18 AM Reply   
So I took a couple of my friends out the other day who have never been wakeboarding before, although they have been snowboarding for sometime. I've been wakeboarding for a couple of years now, although I still consider myself a beginner, and I don't really even think about how I get up, I just do it. When I started telling them what to do, I barely knew what to say. All I could think of was pull your legs in and point your toes forward and just let the boat pull your up. Well needless to say, with my limited directions neither of my 2 friends were able to get up that day. I've watch some youtube videos coaching others on getting up, but what do you guys say or do when taking a first timer out??

Hopefully they'll come out again, cause I know once they get up, they will love it.
Old    Chaserwaser            07-09-2010, 11:43 AM Reply   
Some of the biggest instructions I give are...
When the boat starts to go DO NOT try to stand up, let the boat pull you up... Alot of new riders tend to think once that boat engine hurls they need to stand up which causes that frontward knees bent fall / or ripping the rope from there hands..
When the boat starts to pull you up .. keep your elbows and knees bent very slightly and start to push your legs downward like your crushing someones head ( this will alow the legs to straighten instead of the knees bent when getting up which again causes that foward fall...
Once they stand up tell them to bring the rope into there leading hip so its touching there hip, this will cause their back to straighten instead of that "rope out in front of them knees bent frog look "