Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Non-Wakeboarding Discussion

Old    sperbet            08-11-2010, 12:44 PM Reply   
I'm sure someone here can help me out.

I've got an HD cable box and blu-ray player hooked up via HDMI. I want to hook both up to my stereo with 5.1 via the optical connection. Can I just hook both up to the TV via HDMI then run 1 optic from the TV to the stereo? Or do both the box and the blu-ray player need to be hooked directly to the stereo each with it's own optic cable?

Thanks!
Old     (alans)      Join Date: Aug 2005       08-11-2010, 12:55 PM Reply   
So I assume your Receiver does not have HDMI switching?
Old     (rsanchez)      Join Date: Jun 2010       08-11-2010, 12:56 PM Reply   
Okay, I'm a rookie with home theatre stuff, but I have the exact setup you're mentioning, bluray, appletv, directv etc connect to the tv via HDMI and the TV connects to sound via optical connection, so to answer your question, from my understanding, yes.
Old    sperbet            08-11-2010, 1:00 PM Reply   
yes, the reciever is pre-hdmi. thanks guys!
Old     (alans)      Join Date: Aug 2005       08-11-2010, 1:01 PM Reply   
How many Optical inputs does the reciever have? Most have at least 2. How about a digital (non-optical) input
Old    sperbet            08-11-2010, 1:07 PM Reply   
4 optical, 1 digital (non-opt)
Old     (alans)      Join Date: Aug 2005       08-11-2010, 1:18 PM Reply   
In that case, the other option would be to go Direct to the receiver from the cable box and Blu-Ray via optical cable.

The only thing I would check into is if your TV can properly decode the HDMI audio signal and convert it to the corresponding code for optical out. Assuming you want DTS and Dolby 5.1 to work properly.

Last edited by alans; 08-11-2010 at 1:21 PM.