Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 10, 2005

Old    luv2wake2            05-17-2005, 7:27 PM Reply   
I have a 99 Malibu with the 325 Monsoon. I've had the injectors reconditioned , new spark plugs, the compression test was good , I even tried letting the pressure off of the fuel system when I was done. It starts and runs great, but after about 4 or 5 hours of running it gains about a quart on the dip stick. I thought I was a decent mechanic , but this one has me stumped. Thanks in advance for any help out there!
Old     (wake_upppp)      Join Date: Nov 2003       05-17-2005, 8:24 PM Reply   
Does it have a mechanical fuel pump? I know cars have electric pumps in the tank for injection but not sure about boats. Chevy mechanical pumps had a problem leaking into the crankcase when the diaphram would get old and leak.
Old     (sam8)      Join Date: Dec 2004       05-17-2005, 9:59 PM Reply   
You need somebody very squared away on the tuned port engines. That isn't me but if I was going to guess...
There are a limited number of ways fuel can get into the oil...if it is really running fine but is dumping that much fuel into the oil, I would suspect an injector(s) is bleeding fuel pressure off into a cylinder(s) after engine shut down, like when picking up a skier, boarder, etc. Not necessarily when you are done for the day. I don't think you even have a provision for a mechanical pump on that engine. A vaccuum leak sucking fuel into the lifter valley via the intake tract would show a loss of performance, which you don't indicate you have.