Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Old     (notreknip)      Join Date: Apr 2008       07-02-2008, 12:34 AM Reply   
Hey guys, I've been shooting sports/wakeboarding for a few years now and have been getting decently consistent results. ...but I'm definitely still learning and still improving.

40D / 70-200 2.8 IS
(Usually I strive for 1/1000 with f/4 or so; lately I've been turning the IS off but am still on the fence in this debate.)

Over my numerous outings on the boat, I've tried various AF techniques and to be honest I've still not really latched onto one.

A few that I've tried:

- switching to MF after autofocussing on the rider's head and sitting directly under the tower, centered on the boat (with the idea that the focal/rope length never should change)

- using Canon's * button to set a focal length at the rider's head and then using the shutter to just fire away (logic similar to above); this I've tried with AI Servo, AI Focus, and One Shot

- using AI Servo and center point AF

- using AI Servo and multi-point AF

I guess there are a few variables to consider:

1) the AF drive mode
2) the AF point selection
3) the method of applying the AF (i.e. independent of shutter or not)
4) the notion of a "never changing" focal length

I guess I'm just curious what you guys (pros and amateurs) use for shooting from the pull-boat.

On another note, what is the DOF at f/4 vs. f/2.8 on a 1.6 crop body at, say, 140mm? Save me the math!

Thanks in advance for the answers/discussion guys/gals.

(Message edited by Notreknip on July 02, 2008)
Old     (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       07-02-2008, 5:46 AM Reply   
DOF is pretty thin at f2.8 from the boat I would imagine, I've always shot at f4-f5.6.