Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 04, 2005

Old     (kraig)      Join Date: Dec 2002       03-07-2005, 6:01 PM Reply   
There is a problem coming to light here on WW about after market alternators. Primarily the ones purchased from The Battery Shack in Florida. If you have read the thread "Where do I buy a High Output Alternator" then you know something about what is happening. Grant brought up a great idea to post this thread and I am doing just that. So I give credit where credit is due!

The problem is the proper Marinizing of an alternator. Which makes it a marine alternator. Keep in mind I am NOT an expert on alternators, which is why I was taken by people selling a non-marinized alternator. I now know enough to know what a marinized alternator is and what makes it safe. Also, I am not posting this thread to roast the company I purchased my alternator from, but unfortunately they are the company that has brought this problem to light through their own errors. And they are the ones I have a problem with. We should look at the alternator from everyone who makes HO alternators.