Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (you_da_man)      Join Date: Sep 2009       05-04-2010, 4:41 PM Reply   
I'm a complete newbie to wakeboarding. Had my new Moomba XLV since end of Sept but only got to wakeboard twice before winter. This past Sunday was my first pull this season and was landing nice jumps consistantly. To learn to ride switch so I can later progress to 180 tricks should I slow my boat speed down? Would it be easier to start switch or just come up my regular way then surface 180 to switch? Should I have my fins on the board for the first few sessions? Any tips would be appreciated.
Old     (lfrider92)      Join Date: Sep 2008       05-04-2010, 5:24 PM Reply   
to me, i find it so much harder getting up switch then just to surface 180. When i was learning, i would get up, ride my normal speed, and then edge outside of the wake toeside, then do a surface 180, so your on your heels riding switch, its nice knowing you can lean back against the line while your learning. I would just drift in towards the wake the edge back out.

Eventually i did like i explained above, then just edged across the wake to the other side where i was riding toeside switch for the first time. Although i dont claim to have mad switch skills or anything like that. But i do feel quite comfortable riding switch and have saved more landings while jumping toeside then i can count by coming out of them switch.

so to sum it up, i would stay at your normal speed, and just surface 180 outside of the wake.
Everytime i go to the lake now, i make sure to ride switch, and i feel more comfortable doing so every time.
good luck! and have fun
Old     (jasonpav)      Join Date: Dec 2008       05-04-2010, 5:55 PM Reply