Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through November 14, 2005

Old     (longhornfan)      Join Date: Oct 2005       10-31-2005, 11:43 AM Reply   
My soon to be father in law has one and the wake on that thing is huge. I'm new to the sport and have never ridden behind a legit wake boat but I'm wondering why more people don't go with the large deck boats. Especialy considering you don't need to add ballast to them to get a huge wake.
Old     (jaubrey)      Join Date: Feb 2003       10-31-2005, 2:16 PM Reply   
Kenneth, Crownlines are nice boats and my family has one also, but the shape of the wake and its overall lip is nothing to compare to a towboat. We also have a Mastercraft X30 and the difference is unbelievable. But theres nothing wrong with the c\Crownline you can still board off of it and its a fun boat, but trust me the difference is phenomenal.

By the way, Texas Sucks, Boomer Sooner
Old     (trace)      Join Date: Feb 2002       10-31-2005, 2:34 PM Reply   
maybe next year, Jared. \m/ \m/
Old     (jeff359)      Join Date: Jun 2005       10-31-2005, 3:18 PM Reply   
My laundry list on why they don't compair
1)I/O's problem with holding speed - bigger the boat the worse off. If you have a skill level above beginner you'll get really tired of this, and it'll drive the driver crazy.
2) Tracking is not even close to the worst of vdrives, let alone high quality ones. Once again, this will drive a good boarder and any driver crazy
3)Don't forget the safety factor, your prop is exposed our are underneth. Good luck wake surfing.