Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (dave23)      Join Date: Nov 2006       04-18-2010, 2:48 PM Reply   
Anyone know anything about these? I need one for my stereo badly.
Old     (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       04-18-2010, 4:20 PM Reply   
The first thing everyone will ask is, What gauge wire do you have running to your amps?

I have a 4 gauge run going to each amp. I still installed 2 caps the other day. I'm no expert by any means. I just figured that for $80 a piece, what could they hurt? I figured that I probably don't need them most of the time, but they might come in handy when the Batteries start to drain, and they're struggling. Guess we'll see how it goes.
Attached Images

Old     (bawshogg)      Join Date: Dec 2005       04-18-2010, 7:02 PM Reply   
Capacitors are nothing more than a storage device, somewhat like a battery. They are made to discharge all at once. I think if your batteries are very close to the amplifiers they are useless, but that's just my opinion.
Old     (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       04-18-2010, 7:48 PM Reply   
That's what I thought. I have 2 batteries for the stereo, but they live all the way in the back by the engine.
Old     (bawshogg)      Join Date: Dec 2005       04-18-2010, 9:45 PM Reply   
For the OP, What makes you think you need one badly if you don't really know much about them?
Old     (dave23)      Join Date: Nov 2006       04-18-2010, 10:06 PM Reply   
bawshogg, This is for my car, not for a boat. I have problems with the headlights dimming when the sub hits. I was looking around on crutchfield and that's what one of the capacitor's description said it was for. I'll have to check what gauge wire I'm running, but the amp that it is being used here is a 600 watt amp if that helps at all.