Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Jeff)      Join Date: May 2010       03-17-2012, 5:13 PM Reply   
When I was younger I'd wakeboard year round (Southern Louisiana). Now that I'm older (32) I'm not as hardcore and take the winter off but still use my old full wetsuit in the early spring for those first 3-4 outings.

Just FYI, I bought my full suit when I was a sophomore in high school and was ~170 lbs. I'm about 2-2.5" taller and 40 lbs heavier and still wear the same one. So, you can imagine it doesn't leave much to the imagination and it's time to replace it. It's actually so tight that it restricts my breathing.

Anyway, since I don't need one that's suitable for winter anymore I was thinking a long sleeve wetsuit jacket (2-2.5 mm) plus some 2 mm shorts would be easier to deal with. It's always a pain with a full suit especially if someone else wants to share it. If I had a jacket and shorts I'd throw them the jacket and tell them to prepare for shrinkage 'cause I don't feel like taking my shorts off.

I'd think I'd also probably use the shorts all season to prevent bustin' my genitals. Those butt first falls sure hurt a lot less in my wetsuit than with just board shorts.

I've pretty much talked myself into it but does anybody else use a 2 piece setup like this? How do you like it?
Old     (Kane)      Join Date: Mar 2010       03-18-2012, 3:10 AM Reply   
Maybe try a shorty?

They have most of the benefits of a full wet suit but are very easy to get in and out of.
If you might use it a bit in winter then try a longsleeve shorty like an O'Niell's Gooru GBS or a Mystic Crown Steamer.

Hope that helps
Old     (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       03-18-2012, 11:35 AM Reply