Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through March 19, 2004

Old    franks21            02-16-2004, 8:28 PM Reply   
I am new to wakeboarding but want to get into it this summer(my dad just bought a house on a lake in PA) but dont really know that much about it. Any recomendations on boards or what to look for. Im like 6'2" and about 190-200lbs. I snowboard if that helps but i am a beginer and dont want to spend a huge amount... any sugestions would be great. thanks
Old     (kristian)      Join Date: Nov 2002       02-16-2004, 10:31 PM Reply   
Hi Nick, Welcome to wakeboarding.
As far as a board, I'd suggest staying around the 139-142cm area for the length of the board.
Do you have a local board shop? If so I'd suggest buying from them, they'll more than likely do you a deal on a whole setup.
See what brands they sell.
Don't forget a life vest, and rope/handle combo.
Maybe have a look at the Hperlite Motive with Split bindings.
Old    franks21            02-17-2004, 5:55 PM Reply   
Thanks for the reply. How important is the rope/handle. I used to waterski and still have some decent ropes from that. Any suggestions on rope/handle. Thanks for the sugestion about the board im going to look into it. Any other pointer you can give me as a beginner just getting started. Thanks again
Old    walt            02-17-2004, 6:18 PM Reply   
Hi Nick
You dont want to use your ski rope because it will stretch and thats not a good thing when your Wakeboarding. Find a rope made out of Spectra like the Accurate "Jacket" Wakeboard Rope.Take a look on E-bay and you might find a deal.
Old     (seedickride)      Join Date: Jan 2001       02-17-2004, 6:19 PM Reply