Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through September 04, 2009

Old     (scarbs)      Join Date: Aug 2009       08-23-2009, 7:56 PM Reply   
Hi all. Newbie here. I am in the market for my first wakeboard boat and I am considering the following boats in my area for about the same price: 1996 Nautique Super Sport, 1999 Centurion Elite V, 2003 Sky Supreme 220sp, and a MINT 1999 Mastercraft 205. Since it is my first boat, I am also considering a couple of 90s Super Nautiques that are a little less expensive. We are all beginner wakeboarders, and my sons also like the tubes. But we want a boat that will also give us the best wake for when we get better. Which of these is the best? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old     (sidekicknicholas)      Join Date: Mar 2007       08-23-2009, 7:58 PM Reply   
of those Supersport, unless the 205 is V-drive.

Do not buy anything not v-drive, because in 2 years you'll be selling to buy a v-drive... been there done that.

The supersport is a great boat with a great great wake.
Old     (bmh2208)      Join Date: Apr 2004       08-24-2009, 7:14 AM Reply   
Supersport hands down. Has the same hull as super air all the way up to 2006. Does the super sport have a tower or ballast?

You ask for best wake? In my biased opinion, Nautique, no question. That is unless, as nick pointed out, it's a 205V, then essentially it's the original X-star (sans tower and ballast). Then it's up to wake preference, ramp (205) vs wall (SS). For beginners on the nautique, you can go a little heavy on the bow weight to make the wake not so abrupt.

While searching I found a pretty good writeup on the 205/X lineage.

http://mastercraft.com/teamtalk/attachment.php?attachmentid=20362&d=1175286650