Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through August 20, 2005

Old    mcculloughrg            07-29-2005, 1:29 PM Reply   
About A week ago, I Sprained my ankle trying a tantrum. I want to know if this is a common injury in wakeboarding, and will I be able to ride the same as I used to or am I going to have to baby it?
Will it injur again by stepping on it the wrong way?
Thanks
Rich
Old     (actiondcpd)      Join Date: Apr 2003       07-29-2005, 1:31 PM Reply   
I hurt mine riding 2 years ago and it still hurts after a few sets. You can ride the same just be careful. I wonder if mine will ever heal.
Old     (atlsackedup)      Join Date: Mar 2005       07-29-2005, 1:35 PM Reply   
Rich...this is my first year riding and I did the exact same thing the first time out behind my new (new to me that is) boat. I sprained my right ankle on just a simple toeside W2W gone bad. Anyway, I had to take about 4 weeks off from riding all together before it healed enough to ride again. It sucked, but I kept re-injuring it everytime out...so it was necessary to let it heal. Then I sprained my left ankle trying what you did...trying a tantrum, which as a beginner, not sure why I tried in the first place...guess I got tired of going wake to wake. Anyway, my advice would be to stay off of it for a couple of weeks atleast and if it is not tender to the touch and just walking around, then its probably safe to hit it again. Sprained ankles suck though for sure...it has definitely made me a little more timid in my riding.
Old     (centralcali)      Join Date: Jan 2005       07-29-2005, 1:50 PM Reply