Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (KGar11)      Join Date: Mar 2010       10-15-2010, 7:41 AM Reply   
How hard is it to make it as a Boat salesman?
I have been interested in boats my whole life and I am now a student in college. I would love to do this but I was wondering what some of your stories where if you pursued this career or other stories you have heard
thanks for the help
Kevin
Old     (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       10-15-2010, 7:50 AM Reply   
I tried it. I would only do it again if the dealership had a great reputation and was smaller/family owned. When I did it we sold runabouts and fishing boats as well. I would of rather had just ski/wakeboarding boats. There is lots of down time at certain times of year and lots of crazy, working extra hours and bending over backwards at times. At least if you want to be a good salesman that really earns the trust of your customers. I worked for Cope and McPhetres and because of how terrible it was run I don't think I ever had the chance to do my best. I was busy fixing other people's mistakes. I was spending as much time getting boats ready for demo's and deliveries as I was selling. This wouldn't of been a problem if it was a small place with slower traffic but when I was missing out on possible sales for myself and the company it makes no sense. I was a 50k/year boat detailer. I only tried it for about 9 months and I did have a lot of fun though. I would also make sure the dealer has their own truck for towing the boats around. I had to use my rig a lot and I was spending as much on gas as I was making almost.
Old     (bill_airjunky)      Join Date: Apr 2002       10-15-2010, 8:25 AM Reply