Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (seacamper)      Join Date: Jul 2011       07-08-2011, 8:11 PM Reply   
Hey All.
I am a newbie. After years of part time wakeboarding, I finally bought an inboard (89 Ski Nautique) loaded it up with ballast, and I am on my quest for over the tops. I am currently using a hydroslide matrix 143. I watched the Wakeworld 101 vid on the inside roll and a lot of it makes sense. I am currently only getting the board to touch after about 345 degrees of rotation. I do not think I am really getting any pop (a new term to me) and after watching the vid, I saw some techniques to improve. I think that at my age, I need every advantage I can get and I was wondering if a better board would help. Should I go down to a 140? Should I look for lite weight? Does it matter or is it all technique? Are there any aerodynamic things to change like a tighter vest? (The one I use now is pretty big on me) Is there a board made for flips? Any thoughts you have will be appreciated. PS, "get off my lawn" jokes will be ignored.
Old     (e_rock32)      Join Date: Oct 2009       07-08-2011, 8:53 PM Reply   
143 is the perfect size for you (140-144 cm is good), weight isn't a huge issue and usually means it's a stronger board... Not sure about hydroslide wakeboards. What's is the tail shape like? Squared edges near the tail give a good edge and release point for jumping. A consistent arc on the edge is also good for smooth edge and release. Continuous rocker boards are best for all levels of riding because they have a more consistent edge, stable pop, they are faster, and land softer. You can tell a board is continuous by setting it on the ground and rocking it like a rocking chair. Continuous boards will continue to rock back and forth.