Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 20, 2007

Old     (norcal72)      Join Date: Aug 2005       06-08-2007, 7:25 AM Reply   
My son is almost 8 and he and I are starting the wonderful venture of inverts. What are peoples opinions of whether or not to wear a helmet or not. It seems like some do and some dont. Any thoughts would be greatly helpful.
Old     (ronnyboy27)      Join Date: Nov 2005       06-08-2007, 7:31 AM Reply   
Someone posted recently that their doctor did not recommend wearing a helmet unless there is a danger of hitting something solid. Sliders, Kickers etc. According to the post the helmet gives more surface area for the water to hit and is easier to get a concussion. I'm no doctor and it didn't make sense to me but what ever. Some where them to protect aqainst blown ear drums.
Old     (craig_riddle)      Join Date: Apr 2003       06-08-2007, 7:42 AM Reply   
Ron covered my opinion. If there's a chance of hitting something solid, wear a helmet. On the water my primary interest would be the ear protection.
Old     (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-08-2007, 7:54 AM Reply   
i used to wear a helmet due to a few concussions trying 3s. it definitely raised the confidence level while lowering the number of painful crashes, and eventually, i started landing 3s.

with that said, i got a concussion, albeit a mild one, wearing a helmet. in short, it'll help to prevent many painful wrecks and concussions, but will NOT completely prevent them all.
Old     (garret_s)      Join Date: Apr 2006       06-08-2007, 8:43 AM Reply   
/thread jack

Joe, post those pictures dude! I want to see that girl getting nailed by the rooster tail!

/end threadjack