Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Girls Who Ride

Old     (tcan)      Join Date: Dec 2006       05-22-2007, 2:55 AM Reply   
i have been riding for about 6 months now love it, but cannot pull a single trick..well switch 180 w2w's is as deep as i get...what do i need to do to land a 3? i have not even thought of invert but want to try soo bad!! i was hoping to use your trial n error...what to do or not to do's...i am just tired of riding like crap and nothing feels better to me than being on the water but i just don't feel like i am progressing!! help please if you can!!
Old     (parkgirl)      Join Date: Nov 2001       05-22-2007, 8:36 AM Reply   
I know how you feel, getting stuck in a rut sucks...unfortunately it is pretty common in wakeboarding to go through periods where you dont learn anything new for awhile.

Sounds like you are on the right track. Im sure you've heard it all before, but you need to stop thinking about what you are NOT accomplishing and focus on what you ARE doing well, and try making it better.

When I get in a rut, I do a few things:

1- try a new grab or poke on an old trick

2- work on switch riding, or surface tricks, (try an ollie B/S 180 out in the flats, they are super fun)

3- try that new trick you're scared of!...seriously most tricks are scary the first time you try it, then after its no big deal.

Once you get away from your normal stuff that frustrates you and try new things no matter how basic, it'll bring back your confidence and ability to have fun again, and you'll naturally start progressing again:-)

hope this helps!
Old     (tcan)      Join Date: Dec 2006       05-22-2007, 11:50 AM Reply