Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through February 15, 2009

Old     (ixfe)      Join Date: Aug 2008       12-23-2008, 12:06 PM Reply   
I am in the market for a new boat. Actually, it will be my first. I am a beginner and this is will be a family boat (four kids under the age of 10).

I have been researching for longer than I care to admit (years, not months) and have been on quite a few test drives.

My budget is $32K. I'd like a beam of at least 98". But the boat can't be longer than 22' (w/out swim platform).

Here's what I'm considering:

1) 2008 Calabria Pro V (brand new leftover). I have seen them listed in the mid-high $30's. I wonder if I could get a dealer down to $32k??

2) 2005 Malibu Wakesetter VLX. I have seen a couple in the mid-$30's. Not as big inside as the Pro V, but very tempting.

3) 2007 Supreme V208 (brand new repo). I have found quite a few of these for low-$30's, but they are only 95" beam.

4) 2004 Malibu Wakesetter VLX. There is one in Bend that's only $24K, but again the beam is only 93"

Which would you hit?

Or point me in a different direction. What would you buy TODAY with $32K?
Old     (trickyboarder08)      Join Date: Jul 2005       12-23-2008, 12:18 PM Reply   
out of those, 05 Wakesetter is my choice.
Old     (johnsvt)      Join Date: Dec 2006       12-23-2008, 12:25 PM Reply   
Why a 98" beam?
Old     (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       12-23-2008, 12:29 PM Reply   
Out of those listed, the 05 VLX.

Other options: 1-2 yr old Tige 20V (20', 96" beam) - Tower w/swivel racks, ballast, trailer, 340hp, cruise, bimini.
or
3-4 yr old 22V/Ve (22', 102" beam. Similar options.

Great boats, great ride, family friendly
Old     (yodd_tost)      Join Date: Aug 2007       12-23-2008, 12:30 PM Reply