Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through April 01, 2004

Old    tron            03-30-2004, 8:30 AM Reply   
Newbie here. Sorry for the long post.

Buying a wakeboard boat mostly for the kids and have it down to either the X-10 or VLX. Either boat suits my specific needs. Another manufacturer is not an option for me.

Part of my research included this board. My there are certainly some opinions about both of these manufacturers on this board.

IMHO, both boats are great but I am swaying more towards the Malibu. In trying to make sure I was getting a fair price, I contacted a few dealers in CA, and they responded back by saying, bascialy, "buy from the dealer in your area or you won't get serviced." Then I tried to find some dealers - there weren't many. Like only one from San Diego to Los Angeles, and one more from LA to San Francisco. There may be more but I couldn't find them. This does not give me much comfort. I have a Mastercraft dealer within 20 minutes of me, and a few more within an hours drive.

No doubt both boats will need warranty repairs at some point.

Since there appears to be a huge amount of experiance on this board, does anyone know if in fact I can only take the Malibu back to the selling dealer for warranty work? How big is the Malibu dealer network in Ca compared to the Mastercraft dealer network? I tried going to the Malibu website to see them but it is only "plug in your zip code" type of look up.

As far as pricing, the Mastercraft and the Malibu are within $500 of each other, with fairly similar configurations. Yes, I saw the post about Nada resale values.

thanks in advance for any tips, and again sorry for the long post.
Old    tigeboatsinc            03-30-2004, 8:37 AM Reply