Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 10, 2005

Old    masterwake            03-09-2005, 11:28 PM Reply   
Alright I have been putting the new system together this off-season and its time for install. I am concerned about interference. Specifically I am trying to decide how I should run my power wire. I have a 99' Mastercraft 230 (v-drive), the battery is mounted (stock) in the back port-side corner (inside boat, not in engine compartment). My amps are going to be mounted under the dash. I can run the power wire around the back of the boat, or run it straight up around the port side and around the bow. It would be cheaper to run it in the back since it would require less wire, but I am not sure about interference. Does anybody have any experience with this? Where is the best place to ground? Also, I am about to add a second battery-any suggestions?
Old     (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       03-10-2005, 6:40 AM Reply   
Ground to the negative post on the battery. Keep main power/ground wires as short as possible. Keep power/ground wires away from RCA's and make sure both are well insulated. You shouldn't have much problem with ground/engine nosie. I've never had an issue with ground nosie untill I upgraded to a horn setup. My guess is because of the high frequency and the amount of amplication required to power them.
Old     (mikeski)      Join Date: Aug 2003       03-10-2005, 2:02 PM Reply   
Adam,

It might be your amp? One other issue is that you are probably drawing lots more juice now so your alternator is working more. The harder the alternator works the more noise it makes.

Mike
Old     (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       03-10-2005, 2:23 PM Reply