Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through January 14, 2005

Old    kcox            10-14-2004, 10:16 AM Reply   
I'm looking at a 97 ski centurion. I love to board but I'm not that experienced at the ins and outs of buying a boat. What are the indicators that would tell me not to buy. Aside from the gapping hole in the hull! just kidding. It was suggested to check the runners but I don't know how to do that or what I would be looking for.so specifics are the key. The boat is about 20' and has 351 engine. Thanks
Old     (norcalmalibu)      Join Date: Jun 2004       10-14-2004, 10:41 AM Reply   
first off is the boat a 87 or a 97? The quality of centurions has gone up over the years but in the 80s in my opion are totall junk. I used to ride behind a 88 centurion and we always were working on it. Finnaly the saftey coller snapped on the propeller shaft which then proceded to slide out and hit the rudder around 40mph exjecting some people in the lake. After that incident the boat was gone. I also had a guy within the last week come in to my work and tell me he was on a mid 80s centurion that capsized on him. This is some food for thought.
Old    matt_w            10-14-2004, 11:56 AM Reply   
What 97 centurion? I have a 95 Centurion Falcon and they are not a good wakeboard boat. They are good for barefoot and slalom. They are also a smooth water boat, so don't buy if you ride in choppy water.

I am not impressed with the quality of my boat overall, but I am satisfied, I got what I paid for.

If you are unsure of the boats condition, hire a marine surveyor to check everything out.
Old    kcox            10-14-2004, 3:29 PM Reply