Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through October 28, 2007

Old     (tlatoani)      Join Date: Oct 2007       10-26-2007, 10:04 AM Reply   
Hi all,
I'm looking at a 2001 SAN for sale pretty close to me. This will be my first inboard so I would appreciate any tips on what to look for. Obviously I will make sure everything is working (pp, ballast, etc). The seats are in fair shape, but I expect that on an 01. The exterior looks very nice. It has ~500 hours on it. It's in the midwest so I assume freshwater, but I'll double check.

What else should I look for? Would this be a decent starter boat? I'm a beginner/intermediate wakeboarder with 2 small boys that I want to teach, and of course improve myself. I've also considered a similar era X-star, as well as quite a few other brands.
Old     (trace)      Join Date: Feb 2002       10-26-2007, 11:09 AM Reply   
The stock digital gauges on those 01's were crap. Make sure they've been replaced, but with 500 hrs I bet they already have been. You'll have a top shelf boat that you may never want to upgrade.
Old    K.B.C.            10-26-2007, 11:44 AM Reply   
great boat, can't go wrong IMO. The 01 is my favorite year. Ditto on the digital guages. Good luck.

You may also want to check planetnautique.com.
Old     (tlatoani)      Join Date: Oct 2007       10-26-2007, 12:13 PM Reply   
Sounds good. I can probably handle replacing gauges. Will the hours read correctly after replacement?

I dont think it has a bimini-is factory the way to go?

(Message edited by tlatoani on October 26, 2007)
Old     (sailing216)      Join Date: Oct 2007       10-26-2007, 12:48 PM Reply   
Great, high quality product. Rock solid:
http://www.towerbiminis.com/index.aspx