Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through October 07, 2003

Old     (bilbong30)      Join Date: Sep 2003       09-16-2003, 1:17 PM Reply   
Hey,

I am a pretty new rider. I started riding about 1 month ago. Been going about 4-5 times a week though. Got a new malibu wakesetter so i have to put it to use :-)
My question is this...I weigh about 225 and am about 6 foot 3. I currently have a Hyperlite TFD 142 but am looking to go with the parks now. I hear you get alot more pop. I am comfortable on boards as low as 133. I can get up on any board and any size over 133. Should I stick to a board in the 140's or should i go for a 138? How do i know what one to pick? Will the pop be different? What one is better for me and my size?

Thanks!!!
Old     (jarrod)      Join Date: May 2003       09-16-2003, 1:23 PM Reply   
I'd say 140 or bigger for sure. Also, the Parks isn't the only board with huge pop. You might want to demo one. I hated it, just like a large portion of the people who ride it.
Old    wakeboard_iraq            09-16-2003, 1:43 PM Reply   
My brother and wife both have the Parks board. I ride the Premier. Not one of the three of us can figure out how to get the Parks board way up in the air. I understand that there is a way to unlock that huge pop - but we cant figure it out.

Also, get the 142 - you are way too big for anything under 140. I am 180lbs and have ridden just fine on a 131 when it was the only board in the boat but it isnt the right fit for my size.
Old    wakeboard_iraq            09-16-2003, 1:44 PM Reply   
I mean the 143 - sorry.
Old    wuneyewilly            09-16-2003, 4:54 PM Reply