Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Non-Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (bigdad)      Join Date: Apr 2002       08-10-2010, 8:59 AM Reply   
Just so we are clear. I'm talking about the trailers with the tow hitch and not a 5th wheel.

The wife really wants to get a travel trailer to take so we can start camping with our two little ones. Notice how I said "start"? We actually never have camped before because the wife wants a bathroom and doesn't want to sleep on the ground.

So the travel trailer is a good option and does appeal to me for family vacations. But since I am a complete novice in this area, I am looking for advice. Any brands to stay away from? Options that are essential? Problem areas? Style of trailer that is preferred? Would be towing with a GMC Sierra 1500 extended cab if that makes a difference.

My parents have a 5th wheel trailer so I wouldn't be going at it alone for the first few trips.
Old     (trace)      Join Date: Feb 2002       08-10-2010, 9:08 AM Reply   
You will need to stay under about 24' for your truck. Anti-sway hitch will help, too.

Roofs and caulking are the #1 problem area to watch out for. Also make sure the water tanks are not cracked. Everything else is pretty easy to fix.

If you want to travel where it snows, you'll need heated water tanks.

Having a separate bedroom is nice with little ones because you can put them to bed, and come in later without waking them up. Also, and I like pop-ups, but hard sided bedrooms are nice compared to "hybrids" (TT with pop-out beds with tent walls). They are more insulated, quieter, and darker. Personally I would get a popup instead of a hybrid if I had to go that way.

Make sure you can sit on the toilet. Not kidding about this one - I'm 6'-3", and I have been in some that I literally cannot use.