Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through August 04, 2003

Old    nero            07-31-2003, 6:23 AM Reply   
I called my local ski pro yesterday and was asking him about demo'ing some boards and I told him I was a complete beginner and I was 6' and 195 lbs. He told me I should definately go with the 2003 hyperlite motive 140 or 144. Anyone had any experience with this board? Is it to slow or slippy on the water? Thanks alot.
Old    nero            07-31-2003, 6:32 AM Reply   
Here is what it looks like.
Old     (wakeguru)      Join Date: Feb 2003       07-31-2003, 6:34 AM Reply   
It seems like all the shops push Hyperlite...
They make a great product and the Motive is a good board for you definately. Be ready to spend a little more than you had originally anticipated.
Old    nero            07-31-2003, 6:37 AM Reply   
I know, I was planning on $300 for a complete board for my first. Bindings and all. But I am finding out it is going to be at least $500. I want a good beginner board that is going to allow me to progress and not just leave me a beginner. Plus almost all the completes that I have found are 135 boards and I have been told by everyone that I need a 140 at least.
Old     (wakeguru)      Join Date: Feb 2003       07-31-2003, 6:48 AM Reply   
That Obrien Cobe and DLX were on sale at The House for $229.00 and both were 141cm.
I don't think there is that great of a difference in these boards to where it will allow you to progress significantly more with one or the other.
That's just my 2 cents.
The Motive is a great board and Hyperlite boots are the best in my opinion so you really can't go wrong with that setup. That and it looks good .
Old     (noneya)      Join Date: Apr 2002       07-31-2003, 7:28 AM Reply