Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 04, 2005

Old    crystal1            03-21-2005, 8:01 PM Reply   
One more boat I am looking at: a 2000 Malibu Sunsetter VLX. Has 800 lb ballast in ski locker built in and Wedge (1000 lbs of force) in rear.

I am no expert, but my kids are telling me that the Sunsetter is "... not really a Wakeboarding Boat.. We have to have a Wakesetter ..." . Any comments ?
Thanks
Old     (forwaken)      Join Date: Jan 2003       03-21-2005, 8:10 PM Reply   
Same exact boat as the "wakesetter VLX" with a little less bling/options. "Wakesetter" is mainly an options package i.e. graphics, tower, bling, etc. It will throw the exact same wake though.

Chad
Old     (cbrown)      Join Date: Jan 2004       03-21-2005, 8:11 PM Reply   
The Sunsetter Vlx up until 2001 have the exact same hulls. In 2001 the sunsetter went to the diamond hull or SV23D and the Wakesetter used the now termed SV23W or wake hull. Essentially you could put on a tower and throw some sacks in there and you will have a killer wake. Also if they really want the wakesetter, you can order the decals from your local dealer that will make it appear as a wakesetter.

Edit Chad beat me to it.

(Message edited by cbrown on March 21, 2005)
Old     (mikeski)      Join Date: Aug 2003       03-21-2005, 8:55 PM Reply   
Kids are so funny. My teenage nephew must have asked me 5 times weather the new Nautique was an Air or Sport Nautique. They are the same boat minus the sticker... I ended up buying one from dealer stock, it had the Air graphics, the kid had an ear to ear grin when I told him I ended up getting the "air", go figure.
Old     (lakeaustinrider)      Join Date: Jul 2002       03-23-2005, 3:00 PM Reply