Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through August 21, 2008

Old     (lavinder)      Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Gig Harbor, WA       07-23-2008, 6:29 AM Reply   
As a noob, I am looking for advice on how to get up easier on my board. I put the board at a shallow angle and hydroplane underwater until it surfaces then transition. I get some wobble to the board though. A neighbor advised me to put more weight on the downhill foot and it will transition more easily. Haven't tried it yet. Any other techniques? I am also being pulled by my wife who has never pulled anything before so we are both learning.
Old     (hal2814)      Join Date: Feb 2006       07-23-2008, 6:34 AM Reply   
It's always tough when the driver and rider are both green. Where do you get the wobble? Are you getting up or is that wobble before then? You might be transitioning too early.
Old     (lavinder)      Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Gig Harbor, WA       07-23-2008, 6:42 AM Reply   
The wobble is just as I am getting pressure on the board.
Old     (nwsjake10)      Join Date: Feb 2007       07-23-2008, 8:41 AM Reply   
Well, I'm no wake instructor, nor a professional rider by any means, but...I'd be glad to give you my .02...

For getting up,
I always tell people "knees bent arms straight" at least for when getting up out of the water...suck your knees to your chest, keep your arms on the inside of your legs nice and straight..sit in the water like you've fallen in a rocking chair..and the boat is pulling that rocking chair back to normal..the boat pulls you, you don't pull the boat..

For driving,