Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through August 29, 2006

Old    superchargedmini            08-07-2006, 2:31 PM Reply   
I am a beginner at wakeboarding, looking at the CWB Sol 141 or HL Motive 140. Any suggestions? What about the CWB Flame 141?

Weight: 160 lbs.
Height: 6'0"

(Message edited by superchargedmini on August 07, 2006)
Old     (eaglejackson)      Join Date: Oct 2004       08-07-2006, 4:09 PM Reply   
I can't speak to the CWB's in comparison but can say the HL Motive is an excellent board that's great for beginners and able to stay with you as you progress. It's probably the most successful shape in wakeboarding history and many of us on WW (including myself) started on it. As you get better, you can put smaller fins on (or go finless). You can usually get it at a good price, alone or in a package.
Old     (magellan)      Join Date: Feb 2003       08-07-2006, 6:28 PM Reply   
My suggestion is the Sol as it is a softened aggressive shape with a big fin. ALso, you can get hinge with it. once you try hinge, you will never use another beginner.intermediate boot.
Old    walt            08-07-2006, 6:40 PM Reply   
I started on the Motive and liked it at the time but I was teaching a beginner yesterday and thought it might be fun to try it out again.
WRONG...what a POS ! It was like riding a piece of plywood out there.

The only good thing about it was it seemed to have a soft landing.

I don't know about the Sol but the CWB Flame is a much better board than the Motive IMHO and it's also easy to ride.
Old     (innov8)      Join Date: May 2005       08-08-2006, 7:59 AM Reply