Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through September 10, 2007

Old     (jman)      Join Date: Jul 2004       08-11-2007, 3:40 PM Reply   
I went out with a local wakeboard club that i just found out about, and half way through my set they got me attempting backrolls! landed none, but i am sooooooo stoked about being upside down. i have never tried them before, and now i feel like im on top of the world
Old     (bbking)      Join Date: Dec 2006       08-11-2007, 4:15 PM Reply   
any vid pics? i'm trying backrolls or tantrums next time
Old     (dudeman)      Join Date: Mar 2005       08-11-2007, 5:02 PM Reply   
Cool deal dude. Did the same myself today for the first time and didn't come close. Last one was so ugly it looked like a 360 flat spin. Don't think that's a trick, but if I keep doing it, it will be. Keep trying dude, you'll land it.
Old     (monkey)      Join Date: Oct 2002       08-11-2007, 7:45 PM Reply   
There's a picture sequence in my profile... the way I see it, the trick is to increase your load factor (line tension) gradually, from about 15 to 20 feet away from the wake, with it being pretty strong as you cut into the wake... really sink that rail in good right as you hit the wake, then, as you leave the wake, just tuck in the rope into your hip, look over your lead shoulder, and wait for the landing. The rest, very literally, happens automatically. You can increase or decrease your roll rate by adjusting how much you tuck, so, if your speed doesn't seem very fast coming into the wake (like you lost your nerve), try tucking a bit as your roll (called "mexican style" I've heard). If you're too fast, let your legs out so you don't over rotate and smack your head on the water. That hurts.