Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (sidetracked3)      Join Date: Jun 2009       01-31-2011, 12:08 PM Reply   
I am still somewhat new to wakeboarding and still having problems. I have been trying for the past 2 years. I did not get to practice to much last year but kind of got in to wake surfing instead. I can get up find and cross the wake fine but when I try to jump the wake I tend to keep getting pulled forward. I am not sure if I am hitting the wake wrong or what. I try to lean back when I hit but the rope usually pulls me forward. Any advice?
Old    Ron1xNautique            01-31-2011, 4:17 PM Reply   
If you were able to post a video of your attempts there are plenty of people on here who could probably tell you exactly how to improve upon what your doing or let you know if there is something you should work on or change, but for the sake of getting you a more immediate answer: When I was learning how to jump w2w I'm sure my major downfall was my approach(edging into the wake) I didn't edge out on my toeside far enough and would then edge as hard as I could towards the wake resulting in to much line tension or not enough which either cause me to not stick the landing by throwing off my balance or just made me fall on my face, also I would crouch and kind of ollie off the wake which didn't do me any good either. So that's an example of what you shouldn't be doing. I would say focus on edging out as far as you can, then when the board flattens out under your feet and you feel the pull of the boat and the line stay consistent slowly start to edge in on your heels, you want to increase the amount you edge as you get closer to the wake and maintain an edge all the way through it with your knees slightly bent, resist at the wake and keep your chest up.