Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (dgk30)      Join Date: Jan 2014       06-26-2014, 10:27 AM Reply   
Hey all I wanted to share my project and get some opinions from some of you that might have more experience. I wanted an insanity pylon until I saw the price so for now I am going to go with a home made pylon that I've put together from 1-1/4 galvanized pipe and 1/2" eye bolts. The pipe is cut to 7-1/2 feet tall and I've put a cap on the top and drilled a hole to mount a trailer hitch ball. From everyone's experiences do you feel the cap and ball will be able to handle the forces from a wakeboarder? I also have an Eye bolt location for a tow point as well in case the ball doesn't work. I will post more pics once completed but I am an engineer so I worry about forces and moments on this thing as I have never used a pylon like this before. Take a look at the pic and let me know if you would trust the ball mounted to the cap.
Attached Images

Old     (fly135)      Join Date: Jun 2004       06-26-2014, 10:33 AM Reply   
Ball mounted to cap is fine, but no way to tell how forces are handled without seeing a diagram of the mounting and support. Chop that bolt off before someone gets impaled.
Old     (sppeders)      Join Date: Jul 2011       06-26-2014, 10:47 AM Reply   
is this going to be dropping over an existing ski pylon?
Old     (bcrider)      Join Date: Apr 2006       06-26-2014, 11:19 AM Reply   
Depending on the height and the thickness of the pole itself you may want to consider a strap from the top to the bow. That would help with relieving the pressure on the pole itself.
Old     (fly135)      Join Date: Jun 2004       06-26-2014, 11:28 AM Reply