Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (ShaneWey)      Join Date: Jul 2012       08-24-2012, 3:34 PM Reply   
Hey guys! I'm fairly new to cable riding so I need advice on possible board maintenance.

The bottom of my board is getting pretty scratched up from all the obstacles at the cable parks but nothing too bad; board is still functional and in great shape. I dropped off the board at the pro shop while a guy who works there helped me fix my bindings a bit and I left it there with him overnight. When I got it back, there didn't seem to be as many scratches on it and it looked overall in a smoother condition.

Being that I haven't seen him since I've been back a few times, I'm wondering: did he put wax/resin/poxy on it to smooth it out? Does anyone know what he could have done? I greatly appreciated the extra favor but I haven't gotten a chance to thank him (or duplicate his magic)! Should I be doing regular maintenance on my rail board of some kind?

Suggestions??? Thanks!!
Old     (TBell)      Join Date: May 2011       08-24-2012, 8:13 PM Reply   
Ah, simple fix. But a little confusing.
If you have a grind base
1) get an iron and wax (like ski/snowboard waxing)
2) drip the wax over the area you want to fix
3) this part is tricky, you have to do it fast, before the wax dries, you want to have a peeled banana ready, and rub it all over the surface. This helps the wax set
4) now scrape away the excess wax/banana, it helps if you spit on the board beforehand or use any other kind of lubricant.

Hope this helps! I know it does for me!
Old     (ShaneWey)      Join Date: Jul 2012       08-26-2012, 5:41 PM Reply   
Thanks for the advice Tyson!! I'll have to try that! I have two question though (it may sound dumb lol):