Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Old     (clb)      Join Date: Dec 2007       02-15-2009, 10:35 AM Reply   
I am fairly new to the photography world, but enjoying the heck out of it. As such, I am working on getting a better understanding of my Canon 40D. I was snapping pics of my son's hockey game and noticed some differences in the quality of the pics. I snapped 2 pics in a row using the continuous shooting function so I never refocused or took my finger off of the trigger. The first pic was dark like the white balance was off, the second pic was almost perfect. I was using the custom white balance set through using an expodisc. Even throughout the day, sometimes the WB would be fine, other times not.

Here are 2 pics as an example, taken within 10th of a second apart. They have not been modified. I realize that it can be fixed in post production, but wondering why this was happening?

Any thoughts?

Upload
Upload
Old     (alans)      Join Date: Aug 2005       02-17-2009, 6:42 AM Reply   
1. Are you sure you have the camera set to custom or manual WB?

2. I have heard that indoor/gym lighting can be very inconsistent and at high shutter speeds it may pick up different shades??

3. When I am around light like that I just shoot raw and worry about WB later in processing.

Great pictures, btw.
Old     (wakesurf12)      Join Date: Jun 2003       02-17-2009, 7:05 AM Reply