Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through July 24, 2008

Old     (thisisbrians)      Join Date: May 2008       06-28-2008, 7:05 PM Reply   
When I decided to get serious about this sport, I took it that knee injuries inevitably came with the territory. I'm still a beginner, and have just come to the point of thinking about doing my first invert(s). I have toyed with the thought of wearing knee braces as a preventive measure...I am 19 now and I would like to be at this for awhile. Any thoughts on this and how effective knee braces might be at preventing knee injuries?
Old     (da_kamp)      Join Date: Jan 2008       06-28-2008, 7:37 PM Reply   
DO IT !

i just busted my knee landing my first frontroll. Not fun at all.

You shouldn't have to worry about it if your knees haven't given you problems in the past unless you go huuuuge or something
Old     (liquidmx)      Join Date: Jun 2005       06-28-2008, 9:15 PM Reply   
IMHO The first step towards a healthy long wakeboard career is having CONTROL over your board. This control will keep you from entering the "huckfest" zone. This is the typical progression step where you start learning and landing inverts without the control of the board. What generally happens is you start to get cocky thinking "yah, I am the shizz since I got a few flips in the bag".

To keep from entering this "zone" I would learn the basics...well. This includes: at least most 180's, switch w2w (at least hs), 360 or 2, Methods,and a hs bs 180. (most of those with grabs)
Old     (thisisbrians)      Join Date: May 2008       06-28-2008, 9:37 PM Reply