Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (mwgwin)      Join Date: Oct 2002       08-16-2010, 8:28 AM Reply   
So I tore my patellar tendon last Wednesday, going in for surgery tomorrow. Ive had both my ACLs reconstructed and it looks like the rehab for this one is laying around for 4 weeks and then starting to flex it and get it back in order. my quad will be mush by then Im sure but I wondered if anyone else had gone through this particular surgery and has any advice.

Much appreciated.

Gwin
Old     (mwgwin)      Join Date: Oct 2002       08-16-2010, 8:34 AM Reply   
Some old schoolers may remember my old thread on ACL rehab so Im no newbie to doing accelerated rehab... just reading that patellar ruptures may more easily tear and you never seem to get a straight answer from a surgeon or physical therapist. They want everyone to rehab like a pussy.

http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=243823
Old     (scoot_gt)      Join Date: Sep 2006       08-16-2010, 10:48 AM Reply   
I did this in May of 2008. Was back on a snowboard in Jan of 2009 and back on the wakeboard in Apr of 2009.

You are correct, your quad will be mush and that remains my biggest problem still - quad strength. A little over 2 years now and I can do anything I could do before but my sprinting speed still isn't what is used to be. After 8 weeks or so, the doc should ok you to work out the quad. Take it slow on the quad, I developed some tendinitis from rehabbing too hard and it cost me an extra 6 weeks or so.

Be happy to answer any other questions - just ask...
Old     (aliwake)      Join Date: Dec 2006       08-16-2010, 3:29 PM Reply   
were your acl recos using a patellar tendon graft? just curious... would make sense if the tendon had been weakened by graft harvest?