Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 08, 2008

Old    mcbean7            04-11-2008, 4:42 PM Reply   
Hi all,
I'm new to boating. Just bought an 88 Ski Centurion. Original owner took great care of it cosmetically and mechanically. I want to continue that but don't know a whole lot when it comes to boats. What do you guys do for routine maintenance?
Thanks in advance.
Old     (azpowerhouse)      Join Date: Jul 2007       04-11-2008, 5:11 PM Reply   
Tempe, where are you from? get your parts from skidim, or your local centurion shop. dont buy auto parts(insurance reasons.) I will post a list up in a little bit.
Old    mcbean7            04-11-2008, 5:55 PM Reply   
Thanks Jason. I'm out of Chandler.
By the way, where is a good place to go to learn how to launch boat? I know this weekend is going to be crazy everywhere with temps in the mid 90's.
Old     (azpowerhouse)      Join Date: Jul 2007       04-11-2008, 7:24 PM Reply   
Here is a list(always adding to it), that i used, it is from WW, modified a little bit. (and what I did for each, if anything. Here is also a link to a pdf for a manual, some might help even though its a different boat. In the back they have maintenance.

Engine oil & filter, changed both, quicksilver 25w-40 from bass pro shops, and kn filter.
Fuel filter, done from skidim.
Remove, clean, & reinstall spark arrester
Pull, clean, & regap spark plugs, new put in, NGX from skidim.
-I replace them every 2-3 years
Drain & refill tranny, done from napa, dexron 3.
Impellor (replace), done from skidim.
Squeeze all hoses, checking for soft spots (replace as needed), checked, good.
Check all belts for tension & wear (replace as needed)
Check battery, done bi monthly.
Lube steering and throttle cables,