Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through December 15, 2008

Old     (hunter660)      Join Date: Aug 2007       11-17-2008, 7:18 AM Reply   
I'm in the planning stages of my ballast system. I have my fatsacs, but looking to see which way to go from here. What are the pros/cons of each system. Has anyone had both? Which do you prefer?
Old     (ryker1)      Join Date: Oct 2008       11-17-2008, 11:26 AM Reply   
I'm a noob but some of the basic pros/cons are:

Impeller
- Can reverse flow so less pumps needed
- higher flow rates?
- cost more
- Can easily be damaged running dry and even the run dry protected ones only can be run that way for a really short period of time (seconds)
- Can get replacement parts and fix problems w/o buying new pump

Aerator
- Can be run dry
- Directional so may need twice the pumps
- Can't self prime. Have to install below water line for fill and bottom of sack for drain
- Cheaper
Old     (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004 Location: Tyler       11-17-2008, 11:35 AM Reply   
I've got an aerator system in my boat that I've been happy with. 4 pumps, 2 fill 2 drain. 3 bags. front: left and right, one rear bag.

To add to Chad's list:
Impeller pumps are considerably slower flow rates that aerators.

Aerator pumps can take new pump cartridges if needed.

If designed properly, aerator systems can be flawless systems and are generally faster. Impeller is pretty foolproof (except for run-dry)so drill 1 hole, run a few wires and drop it in.
Old     (wakerider42)      Join Date: May 2002       11-17-2008, 11:41 AM Reply