Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (Task)      Join Date: Aug 2010       08-08-2010, 7:55 PM Reply   
Question to you all, if I am looking at some used older V-drive ski boats (2000 - 2003), is it safe to assume these older V-Drive boats will have a v-hull? Sorry, a bt of a newbie here, but am currently looking at some older V-Drive boats, but am not sure if they all have v-hulls (or if the manufacturer just put a v-drive into a non v-hull boat). Definitely want to buy a ski boat (Sanger, Malibu, etc), but want to be able to cut through the chop on the local lakes. Any feedback on this would be great (let me know if I need to clarify). Older boat suggestions to check out would be great as well.
Thanks!
Old     (lifetimewarranty)      Join Date: Oct 2008       08-08-2010, 8:11 PM Reply   
They are all different. Sangers are all generally at least semi-v (and have very good choppy water traits), but the others will all vary from model to model. I own a Sanger DLX, which is almost identical to the V210, and it handles big chop excellently.

As far as I know, most are not V-hull (like the older Malibu's, X-stars, etc).

Some of the older Mastercrafts - like the X10 - are not quite as flat as the typical ski boats, and that will help in the chop. I think that is why they made that boat, which is very similar to the original X-star in size, but the rear is convex (not v, more of a "U").

I'd bet that some of the Centurions are semi-v also...but not sure which ones.

I imagine we can start a list here:

Sanger V210 - definitely Semi V
Mastercraft X10 - Semi "U"
Too lazy to think of others...

Waterski mag online may have some online testing of that generation of boats - they go back a ways for their boat tests and should list the hull design.