Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Old     (RPM_DLX)      Join Date: Jul 2010       02-22-2016, 1:08 PM Reply   
I ordered my wakemakers ballast upgrade kids for my 2005 Sanger V215. I have them sitting in boxes. I ordered the 1100lb kit for each side. I will completely admit that I have never worked on a ballast system on a boat before and need some help. I have 3 hoses for each bag and 4 fittings. I don't see any instructions and I was hoping someone could help me out with whats what. I have a smaller 90 degree hose with smaller diameter tubing, and two larder diameter tubes with one of them having what appears to be a valve of some sort inline. I have no clue which hose goes where. I have read the tutorial in the DIY section for this but it seems the kits were just being developed from that post and I didn't see a hose hook up instructions. Also, are there any special fitting sealants to use? Just plumbers tape on all the threads? If anyone has done this I would love some detailed photos.
Old     (sidekicknicholas)      Join Date: Mar 2007       02-22-2016, 1:34 PM Reply   
When I re-did mine (04' Wakesetter) it was pretty straight forward...

1. Removed hoses from hard tanks --- remember / label each so you know fill/drain/vent for later

2. Remove hard tanks

3. Place bags in roughly how they'll sit

4. hook hoses to bag (some needed extensions) ... I made my vent line do a "loop" around the gas line before it connected so that water wouldn't siphon out if we listed too hard for surfing. For the hookups I only used the fittings that came with the bags - no plumbers tape or extra sealants .... tape might be fine but I would avoid anything that will make tearing it apart later a chore.

5. Test fire everything and enjoy.