Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through February 17, 2004

Old    dream_weaver            02-09-2004, 5:03 AM Reply   
The battery on my boat is located in the rear, but I want to put the amp in front of the drivers seat. This would make the ground cable 10-15 feet long. I know with car stereos you want this to be as short as possible, so I am wandering if this will be a problem. The only other thing I thought of was to get a seperate battery to place near the amp and just use the negative terminal for ground, while using the other battery's positive. Thanks in advance!
Old     (h2oskeefreek)      Join Date: Jan 2004       02-09-2004, 5:50 AM Reply   
uh....i'm no electrician, but i don't think you can do that. anyone back me up with some technical mumbo jumbo?

why don't you install a second battery just for running the stereo? That way you don't have to worry about draining your starting battery.
Old     (sbt3)      Join Date: Jun 2002       02-09-2004, 6:01 AM Reply   
I have my battery in the back and have both my amps in the front. I ran the negative and positive both to the front. I used 4 gauge wire for both and then a distribution block to run 8 gauge to the amps. I have had this setup for two years with no problems. There are a few guys on this board that are pretty good with stereos and can probably tell you for sure one way or the other, but mine works ok.
Old    dream_weaver            02-09-2004, 6:41 AM Reply   
Nice boat Stan...that is exactly what I have. Have you had any problems with extra load of the amps on your battery/electrical system?
Old     (typhoon)      Join Date: Jul 2001       02-09-2004, 6:43 AM Reply   
aprox 10-12 feet.
Old     (timmy)      Join Date: Jul 2001       02-09-2004, 7:47 AM Reply