Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Wakesounds)      Join Date: May 2011       07-22-2012, 4:56 PM Reply   
I just got a ronix vault 143 for my birthday and wanted to hear peoples opinions of the board. I'm a beginner to intermediate rider, 6'1 200. How does it ride, pop off the wake and stability? And experience with it helps so I can decide if its gonna stay or go?
Old     (petrie141)      Join Date: Jun 2012       07-23-2012, 7:11 AM Reply   
Just make sure that you mount your bindings correctly. The vault's bottom isn't symmetrical. The toes of your bindings should point to the side of the board where the molded in fins are closest to the outside edge. Pop isn't something that's magically made by the board, 90% of it comes from the rider's technique. If you keep the removable fins on the board you should have plenty of stability. In my opinion (and remember that's all this is) you should keep your board. Unless you're planning on hitting the water every day and trying to make this into a career, there's no reason to spend $600+ on a new board/binding setup. Don't forget that board shapes rarely change from year to year. Our wake culture has a tendency to make people one-up each other, try not to let that get in between you and the board you really want. The vault is a perfectly capable board of advanced level riding. The best board is the one that you feel most comfortable on.
Old     (pprior)      Join Date: Jan 2012       07-23-2012, 3:16 PM Reply   
We bought this board this year for a second board and my son and I both use it. He's goofy and I'm normal ride, and I had no idea it wasn't symmetrical. We're only 2nd year boarding and still very newbs - sounds like we made a mistake.